This locomotive was built by Andrew Barclay in 1920 at Kilmarnock and was delivered new to J. and R. Howie Ltd., at the Hurlford Fireclay Works, near Kilmarnock where it became Hurlford Fireclay Works No 2.
The locomotive worked there until it was sold in April 1959 to Glenfield & Kennedy Ltd. of Kilmarnock. There it was repaired using parts from a 1903 Andrew Barclay locomotive and named Glenfield No 2.
By early 1966 rail traffic at Glenfield had diminished and the locomotive was offered for sale. It was not sold until March 1972 when it was purchased by a local scrap merchant.
Later that month, the locomotive was resold to Mr. R.P.Weisham just before it was due to be cut up.
In April 1972 the locomotive was moved to the National Coal Board (NCB) depot at Backworth in Northumberland for storage.
In May 1973 it was moved to Radstock for a further period of storage. Radstock at that time was the base for Somerset & Dorset Railway Museum Trust.
In November 1975 the locomotive moved the short distance to Cranmore which was by then established as the base for the East Somerset Railway.
In 1978 the locomotive was taken into the Cranmore Works and was completely overhauled by 1985 and was fitted with vacuum brake gear and completed in blue livery and named Lady Nan.
The change in name resulted from the locomotive being bought by Nan and Dick Bellchambers in 1984.
The locomotive was loaned to the National Railway Museum but returned to Cranmore during 2000.
A second overhaul of the locomotive was started in March 2005 which enable it to return to service in 2007. It was used on driver experience courses.
The boiler certificate expired in 2017.